– Highlights

Mca Collection

MCA Collection: Today Tomorrow Yesterday

01 Sep - 31 Dec


The National 2017

30 Mar - 18 Jun


Kader Attia

12 Apr - 30 Jul

– Learning Events

Special Event

ARTBAR March 2017

31 Mar, 7.00pm, MCA


Educators conference: 6-7 April

06 Apr, 6.00pm, Level 3: National Centre for Creative Learning

– News from inside the MCA

Art Escapades

Artist Educator Nicole Barakat talks about our new Art Escapades program for 3-5 year olds. more

Support Australian Design this International Women's Day

To celebrate International Women’s Day we’re shining the spotlight on a selection of talented independent, Australia women artists and designers currently stocked at MCA Store more

From the archives: February

Looking forward, looking back. This new monthly series explores MCA archives, penned by our very own Archives and Records Management Coordinator, Stephanie Ferrara. more

– Spotlights from the collection online

MCA Collection

Works from the MCA Collection

Collection Artist Interviews

Watch our latest interviews in the MCA Video Portal

Joint acquisitions by MCA and Tate

The Program promotes Australian art globally, helping Australian artists reach new audiences.

Seppelt Contemporary Art Awards 1998

Museum of Contemporary Art Australia (MCA)


17 Nov 1998 to 28 Feb 1999


Robert Baines, Shane Cotton, Akira Isogawa, Rosemary Laing, Ashton Raggatt McDougall, Kathleen Petyarre, Michael Trudgeon, Catherine Truman, Richard Weller


Linda Michael

about the exhibition

This was the second year of the Seppelt Contemporary Art Award, recognising excellence and innovation in contemporary Australian and New Zealand visual art and design. The Seppelt Awards included Environmental Design and Object Design, as well as Visual Art. These categories, broadly defined, covered the wide spectrum of visual practice, from painting and photography, architecture and landscape design, to fashion and crafted objects.

More than 190 nominations were received, from which the work of nine artists/practitioners was selected for the exhibition. The exhibitors came from Victoria, Western Australia, New South Wales, South Australia, the Northern Territory and New Zealand.


Object Design: Robert Baines

Visual Art: Shane Cotton

Environmental Design: Michael Trudgeon